EU award for investigative journalism

(European Commission, 11. 10. 2014 – 10. 10. 2017)

The EU award regional scheme for investigative journalism in Western Balkans and Turkey is established by the European Commission, DG Enlargement, following the EU Enlargement strategy which recognizes strong need for ensuring freedom of expression in the media, and for support to investigative journalism to monitor the reform processes and to keep the historical momentum toward the EU accession.

The EU award for investigative journalism aims at celebrating and promoting outstanding achievements of investigative journalists and improving the visibility of quality investigative journalism in the Western Balkans countries and Turkey.

The EU award for investigative journalism will be given each year in the period of three years in each of seven EU-Enlargement countries: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo*, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Turkey, rewarding the investigative journalistic work published in 2014, 2015 and 2016.

Investigative stories contributing to transparency and reporting on societal issues related to abuse of power and fundamental rights, corruption and organised crime that otherwise would not have been brought to the public’s attention will qualify for the award.

The award fund for seven beneficiary countries for three years in total is 210,000 Euro. Annual award fund for each country is 10,000 Euro; 1-3 journalists shall be awarded in each country each year; 3000- 5000 Euro per individual prize is to be awarded.

The award is administered by the regional partnership of civil society organisations, coordinated by the Peace Institute in Ljubljana, which was selected for that task by the European Commission: Albanian Media Institute (AMI), Tirana, Albania; Media and Civil Society Foundation Mediacentar Sarajevo (MCF), Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina; Kosovo Press Council Kosovo (KPC), Pristina, Kosovo; Macedonian Institute for Media (MIM), Skopje, Macedonia; Montenegro Media Institute (MMI), Podgorica, Montenegro; Novi Sad School of Journalism (NSSJ), Novi Sad, Serbia; Platform24 (P24), Istanbul, Turkey; Associate partner: The Guardian Foundation, London, United Kingdom.

The European Commission will supervise and approve each important step in the awarding procedures.

This project is funded by the European Commission.

Project Coordinator NSSJ: Jelena Jovović,

*This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo Declaration of Independence

Napišite komentar

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *